QB Jameis Winston and coach Jimbo Fisher said that nothing was done wrong in the contact that took place between the FSU star and a game official during the third quarter of Florida State’s meeting with Boston College on Saturday, where the Seminoles won 20-17. Sportsbook software services and many fans who saw the play could already see the controversy ahead.
As the score was at a 17-17, and there were 5:20 remaining in the game’s third quarter, there was an official standing right between center Cam Erving and Winston to not let Florida State make another play. A game official is supposed stand over the football so that the offense can’t snap it until the defense has sufficient time to be able to match the replacements made with the offense. But the center judge did not stand over the ball, and Erving was ready to snap the ball.
Jameis Winston allegedly shoved an official as the player was trying to make it to the line and then quickly snap the football.
The Heisman Trophy winner was trying to move the official using his arm and hand, and then the center judge went back to his position.
“He was just holding me because he said we had a substitution,” said Winston. “It was actually a fast-tempo play, so I was trying to get up under there and let it ride.”
The coach said that the call made was for the QB to quickly snap the football after the play before that, said that he was told that the official decided to rule that the Seminoles made a substitution at the RB position.
“I don’t think [Winston] realized it. He was caught up in the excitement of the moment,” said Fisher.
“Hey, you get emotional. He didn’t realize. He thought he could snap the ball. … He knew that was his job — get out there and set and snap the ball.”
The coach believes that the incident was a harmless one, without any bad intentions.
“He doesn’t even remember [when he came to the sideline],” said Fisher. “When I yell at players, five minutes later, I don’t remember who I yelled at. You move on to the next thing.”
Sportsbook software services could see how controversial this incident on the field proved to be, but were ultimately happy to see that no punishment was issued to the player. However, some experts believe that the team should have received a penalty.